Grand Traverse Band Tax Agreement Map

Below is where an address can be displayed by entering the search field and then on the map. Once you`ve entered the address, tap Enter on your keyboard or click on the Spyglass. The address is then marked on the map and the map zooms in on where the address is located. If the address z.B. lands inside a green block, it is within the scope of the tax treaty. The name Ottawa, or alternatively “Odawa” or “Odawu,” is designed to deduce from an Algonquian word for the word “merchant.” He was wrongly registered as the “Bulrushs man,” for which there is a certain Odawa term that refers to a particular group. The members are from the nine historic groups of Ottawa (Odawa) and the Chippewa groups (known as Ojibwe in Canada) people who occupy this territory in northern Michigan and have signed contracts with the federal government. They succeeded the 19 groups that have been documented in this region. The permanent villages of Ottawa`s Grand River Bands, including the nine groups whose descendants form the Little River Band of Ottawa Indians, were on the Thornapple, Grand, White, Pérette and Big and Little Manistee rivers in the Lower West Michigan Peninsula. Citizens can now use our new interactive online map tool to determine if an address is inside or outside the tax treaty area. This map also shows the watershed of the ten counties and the tax limit, as well as the tax-exempt gas stations and villages of Pokégnek`dawat. The tribe`s government is composed of an elected governing body, consisting of a tribal president and six members of the tribal council; they are elected by registered members of the Grand Traverse Band. The group has planning, tax and management powers.

The Council also appoints judicial officials who, in conjunction with the State Court, rule on criminal, family and civil cases. The first is an overview of the tax treaty written by the Pokagon Band. The links refer to the official tax treaty between the Pokagon Band of Potawatomi and the State of Michigan, and three amendments to the Michigan Department of Finance tax treaty. The Chippewa (also “Ojibwe,” “Ojibway,” “Chippeway,” “Anishinaabe”) are the largest Indians north of the Rio Grande. Their population is divided between Canada (where they are known as Ojibwe) and the United States.